The Foundation That Makes Up Our Happy Home

Creating a happy home is NOT easy by any means! I thought I’d have this site as a form of accountability for me to: develop skills and habits, to: do pretty cool things, to: maximize time and effort, to: live in a happy home. I want my actual home to beclean and welcoming–happy. I want my family to be–well taken care of, to have their needs met and enjoy being home and together–happyI want to feel like I am actually good at balancing___, well everything–happy.

But you know, it’s really, REALLY tough. And I am realizing why it’s tough; because, I am trying to have these standards 100% every day. But, in all honesty, I.cannot.do.it.all. I don’t have enough strength and energy to do it all. Sometimes I’m a lot better at it than other times. And that’s what is hard to accept because I want to have it all together, 100% of the time.

But, you know, I may have plans for my family, but God has other plans and I am learning to accept it. This is hard because I want control, so very bad. When life was so easy three weeks ago, things were going as planned, there was order and peace. But, life does not always go as we plan.

Recently, a very dear and precious aunt passed away. She was very young. It is hard for me to even comprehend losing her because in my mind, she was not supposed to die. She’s someone I was supposed to do life with, to tell her about my latest adventures, to visit and enjoy one another’s company. She’s just gone and missing and it’s hard to understand that. So, during this sad time in my life, I do not have the energy to have a happy home. Because I’m not happy.  I’m hurting.

flowers

But there is sunshine after the rain, there is hope for new mercies and love. What I thought was happiness, is actually pretty irrelevant in light of what really matters, like faith and love. My home is a wreck after a long trip for a funeral, my family is not eating the best meals, I feel like I’m running on survival mode. But all that is temporal. My family is in a season of mourning and I can’t expect my home to be happy when we really are not. I could hope for better days and a happy home once again. But for now, despite the mess, I am remembering scriptures like:

“when I am weak, then I am strong” {through Jesus Christ} (2 Cor. 12: 9-10).

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.” (2 Cor. 1:34)

I will never leave you nor forsake you” (Heb. 13:5)

 He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death’ or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” (Rev. 21:4)

And I am comforted and believe that Jesus can help me now. And He is working. He uses people to encourage me and love me, especially in these hard times. God uses my kids, all the time.

Just yesterday I asked my son why he wasn’t sad (misery loves company and I was sulking). Then he said something that takes me aback and causes me to reflect on what life is really about. He said that he is sad, but he is happy too. He is sad because of what happened with his aunt, but he is happy because I still have a big family that loves me and daddy has a big family that loves him. 

This boy is six years old. How does he come up with things like that? But he does. And it’s humbling to see life in his perspective, it seems so simple and yet so profound at the same time. I’m so blessed to be his mommy!!

Thinking about his words, I’m understanding that life is about loving and cherishing the people you love; enjoying time with family and friends. When you lose someone close to you, it hurts. Death stings and it sucks! But you know, there are still so many more people to love and who love you too. Don’t neglect them, but love on them as best you can. Enjoy them while you have them. Share the love and Light of Jesus because He is the one and true way to our Father in heaven. And, we can look forward to eternal life with no more heart ache; no more tears and no more pain! We can be sad and mourn for our loss, and we will. But we can also be happy with the love that remains and the hope we have for eternity. So while my home is not all that “happy” right now, I believe that it will be happy again because there is faith, hope and love; the foundation that makes up our happy home. (1 Cor. 13:13)

What a blessing it is to love and to be loved. 

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.” (John 3:16)

Leave a Reply

