Summer 2014

In this season of our lives, my family and I don’t get to go off on amazing vacations like some families get do during the summer. We don’t have the luxury of having the summer time off to spend with our kids…or even get bored for that matter.  When the school year ends, we don’t get to slow down and relax. We continue on our busy routine, going from point A to point B to point C and back to point A, every.single.day of the week! But, we make the best of the time we have, often sacrificing rest to make memories. Time spent with family is so valuable and so is the need to take time off.  In the last 30 days or so, my husband and I celebrated fourteen years together, we celebrated my birthday, we took a trip to visit family in San Diego and we are currently nearing the end of swimming lessons. It’s not very extravagant, but we’ve tried to balance our busyness (and tiredness) with fun and memorable (and relaxing) experiences.

summer 2014a

The summer is coming to an end, I can feel it.  Maybe it’s because the swimming lessons are almost over and I have the back to school packet sitting (waiting) at home for me to look at.  We will continue on our point A-B-C. schedule, only, this time it’ll be just a little bit different.  My oldest will begin 1st grade. My youngest will be three.  My husband will be more focused on studying and I will have teacher conferences and progress report cards to worry about (no more tardies, I mean it!)

But, for now, I want to hold on to just a little more of what this summer has to offer. My boys are little and cute :), the Arizona  mornings are hot beautiful, our calendar is free, we have no homework.

summer 2014

Yes, I’m enjoying this summer, even though I have to work; even though my boys have to spend long days at day care; and even though my husband still has to wake up (and wake me up) before the sunrise. I am blessed. I get to look forward to seeing my family at the end of a long day and I’m very grateful. Because even though we all had to be at work and “school” we can still enjoy the summer’s day when we are all together. And, at the end of this long day, I just want to be right there next to my boys, enjoying the cool water on this very hot summer day.

Leave a Reply

