Random Act of Kindness Part 1

random acts of kindnessDay one of getting a better grade on my kindergarten report card, and I was on a mission to get my son to school on time, with time to spare! I am proud to report that I succeeded and we even had time to sit down for breakfast at the kitchen table. I think that was the first time we ever did that since school started in August! It felt good and tasted good too! We headed out the door and arrived to the school with five minutes to spare! Feeling proud of myself for my grand accomplishment, I decided to reward myself with a Starbucks coffee using my personal cash budgeted for celebrations such as this. I get in line at the drive thru behind what I think was a volkswagen (I should have paid more attention!).  I was talking to my mom on the phone, shamelessly sharing the reason of my celebration but feeling guilty that I was about to spend close to five dollars on coffee. I casually mentioned how I was feeling to my mom, but I convinced myself that I deserved it. I don’t remember the last time I splurged on coffee like that. When it was finally my turn to pay, the Barista told me the car in front of me had paid for my drink! I was like whhaaatttt?! No way. I turned to see who it was, but the car was gone.  I think I had seen a lady ordering from that volkswagen? but I was talking to my mom and not paying attention. I am so grateful, however. I have read about acts of random kindness before and always thought how cool it is for people to do that, but I had never actually done it.  I’m almost embarrassed to admit that, especially after what I experienced.  Being in shock and telling my mom what had just happened and how I didn’t feel guilty anymore, I accepted  my drink and drove away.

Later, after sharing my story with my coworkers and my husband,  a couple of them asked (including my husband) if I had paid for the car behind me. I was completely dumbfounded because that thought never crossed my mind. I am so selfish! I started feeling guilty and at the same time I was feeling robbed of the blessing I had just received. But, hey, I do think I need to be more thoughtful of others, even when I am in shock. So, I am glad for the reminder. It was then that I decided I needed to do a random act of kindness for someone too.  It would be my first gift to a stranger.

To be continued.

Leave a Reply

