My Conversation with A Lady Who Lost Her Husband to Cancer and What I Learned From Her

daylordmade2

Today I met a lady who lost her husband to pancreatic cancer two weeks ago. He had battled the cancer for 7 short months, although he initially was given an estimated 2 months to live.

I drove up to my local Water and Ice store to refill 5 of my 5 gallon water jugs. We drink a lot of water 🙂

As I was parking I saw a lady hugging the clerk inside the store, they seemed to be friends. As I walked in, I placed my cart full of water jugs next to the lady and I began filling them, one by one. While I was filling the containers, the lady was telling the clerk about the battle her husband had with cancer. Oh how I wished I could silence the sound of the water pressure filling my water containers.  It didn’t seem right for the lady to have to talk over the sound of the water. I also felt like an intruder to the conversation, this was very personal. What was I to do? As I was finishing up, the clerk had to assist another customer and I was left alone with the lady whose husband died. I thought it was rude to ignore her and pretend I didn’t hear and I asked her who she had lost and offered her my condolences. She was very friendly and talkative, and she was strong. She was very open about the funeral services. I guess she had many months to prepare herself for the inevitable.

I asked her how long she had been married to her husband and her response was almost 29 years, they had met on New Year’s Eve 30 years ago. One of the last things she mentioned was that she was going to miss out enjoying him during retirement. My heart goes out to her and all others in this situation. I am pretty sure I met this lady for a reason.  I cannot help but think about my relationship with my own husband and how much I truly enjoy being with him and hope we can enjoy a complete lifetime together.

One of the purpose for this blog is to learn how to create a happy home in the city. A happy home is a lot more than a clean and organized dwelling place, it’s where family relationships are nourished and grow to form strong roots that will pass on from generation to generation. My home was established over six years ago when I married my husband.  We’ve always said that wherever we are, that is where home is. And it is true, I am more at peace when I am by his side and I am happy to be home with him. I cannot imagine a life without my husband, and yet, I know there will come a day when either I will be without him, or he without me.

Meeting the lady at the Water and Ice store today served as an encouragement for me to appreciate my husband and enjoy him simply because each day I am by his side is a gift from God. And even though our life is pretty stressful right now with full time jobs, little kids and my husband going back to school, I don’t want to miss out on what I have now because the bottom line is, tomorrow is not guaranteed. We often find ourselves longing for the time when we will be able to rest more and have more, but I have a feeling that there will be a time when we will look back at this time in our lives when our kids were little and said the sweetest things and we will long to relive these days again.

I left the store today and got to go home with my husband who is going on his second week of being sick with the flu.  I am grateful for the hope I have that he will completely recover in a few days and we will be able to go about our normal hectic routine. And, I will make it a point to continue to be grateful for every day that I am by his side.

This is the day the Lord has made;
We will rejoice and be glad in it.  Psalm 118:24

One response to “My Conversation with A Lady Who Lost Her Husband to Cancer and What I Learned From Her

Leave a Reply

